Etrian Odyssey

I thought I would post a link on here as it was a game that I mentioned in the CS Lecture today, Etrian Odyssey is a game series for the Nintendo DS published by Atlus. It revolves around adventuring and mapping dungeons and areas using the bottom touch screen. The maps could then be sold to people in town for money to upgrade your heroes.

http://www.atlus.com/etrian/

I thought a game based on Cartography and adventure would also tie in with both my BA4 Projects, and has forced my decision on where to go with my Game Design Document.

BA4 Creating Coherant Worlds

Eorzea[1]

Creating Coherent worlds, and the use of maps to both create and guide the Player through these worlds is something I take a great interest in.

I have always enjoyed creating and studying maps, it’s always been a first point for creating worlds and establishing the very layout of levels and areas that I am creating.

I Shall post My Notes up ASAP, and shall be gathering reference imagery and information over the next week on all of the topics we covered in today’s session.

Above: Map of Eaorzia From Final Fantasy XIV.

IMG_5296 < Some Maps on My walls I have collected from various Games.

IMG_5328 < A map I forgot I had, It’s a very early Map of Wisbech, the Town of my Birth.

Below: Notes, Although, I can’t seem to make WordPress upload them the correct way.

IMG_5286 IMG_5287 IMG_5288 IMG_5289